TEXAS COUNCIL OF FACULTY SENATES

Spring 2024 Meeting Minutes Embassy Suites - San Antonio Brooks Hotel & Spa February 23-24, 2024

In attendance: The Executive Board members

Joseph Velasco, President
Wynne Chin, Treasurer and Past President
James Woosley, President Emeritus
David Shattuck, Vice President, East Region
Ludovic A. Sourdot, Co-Vice President, Northeast Region
Jaqueline A. Fay, Co-Vice President, Northeast Region
Kip Austin Hinton, Vice President, South Central Region
Derek Catsam, Vice President, West Region

Universities Represented: 25

Regions Represented:

East: 18 Northeast: 10 South Central: 14

West: 8

AAUP, TACT, TAFT, TFA, and NAACP Representatives: 11

Total Attendees: 61

Call to Order

President Joseph Velasco (Professor of Communication, Sul Ross University, Alpine) called the meeting to order at 10:15 am. There were enough TCFS members in attendance to constitute a quorum.

Discussion of Roundup Reports

Dr. Velasco opened the meeting with discussion of the Roundup Reports. TCFS identified eight themes of trends, achievements, challenges, & faculty governance concerns across Texas university faculty governance leaders:

- 1. Concern about reduced role of faculty in grievance policies
- 2. Need to develop TCFS-endorsed policy on shared governance
- 3. Trend in interim administrators installed without faculty involvement
- 4. Concern about the role of faculty in administrative searches
- 5. SB 17 Response Trend: Scrubbing of university websites
- 6. SB 18 Response Trend: Faculty not being consulted
- 7. Trend in administration pursuing increased dual credit enrollments
- 8. Concern about faculty compensation across several universities

Approval of Prior Business Meeting Minutes

President Velasco asked for a motion from the floor to approve the minutes of the September 30, 2023, meeting.

Motion to approve the minutes by Bill Hefley

Motion seconded by Andy Milson

The minutes were approved by show of hands with ten members abstaining due to not attending the February meeting.

Report of the Treasurer

Treasurer Wynne Chin (Professor of Decision and Information Sciences, University of Houston) presented the treasurer's report.

The treasurer's report was unanimously approved by voice vote.

Old Business

The NTT Committee has not met but plans to.

New Business

President Velasco announced the creation of a committee to develop a policy on shared governance that could be adopted at the system level across the university systems.

General Spring Elections

Elections were held for President Elect. Dr. Tabitha S. Morton (Assistant Professor of Political Science, Prairie View A&M University, and Vice President for the East Region) was elected President Elect.

Elections were held for the East, Northeast and West Regions.

Dr. Zachary Valdes (Associate Professor of Library Science and Head of Cataloging and Metadata, Sam Houston State University) was nominated and unanimously elected to represent the East Region. Dr. Harrison Ndetan (Professor, Epidemiology and Biostatistics, University of Texas at Tyler) was nominated for the Northeast Region and was unanimously elected. Dr. Derek Catsam (Professor of History, University of Texas – Permian Basin) was reelected to represent the West Region.

Announcements

President Velasco reminded the TCFS members that the Texas-AAUP meeting was underway in the adjacent ballroom should anyone want to attend.

Adjournment

President Velasco adjourned the meeting at 11:06 am.